EPL shining with foreign star

KATHMANDU: SEPT. 23 – World cricket star Shahid Afridi has arrived in Nepal. He arrived in Kathmandu on Thursday to play Everest Premier League cricket starting on Saturday. He is playing EPL from Kathmandu Kings.

He is not the only player who has left a good mark in world cricket in the EPL. Some of them have arrived in Kathmandu and some are on their way.

Everest Premier League (EPL) cricket, which has been postponed for a year due to the coronavirus pandemic, is starting from Saturday.

The fourth edition of the competition, which was supposed to be held last year, has been postponed for a year, but the competition is expected to be exciting.

Until a few years ago, the T20 franchise, which was run only by Nepali cricketers, is now becoming of ‘international standard’. It is estimated that the competition will be more exciting after Nepal’s domestic league is included in the selection of world-famous cricketers.

Although some of the world’s top cricketers have not been announced, the arrival of long-time Test and ODI players has been confirmed. Which has naturally added fragrance to gold in the T20 competition.

Last year, players like AB de Villiers and Chris Gayle were expected to arrive, but their arrival was not possible. But they are interested and will come to play when the time is right. This is definitely good news for Nepali viewers.

The tournament, which starts on Saturday, will feature Pakistani star Sahid Afridi, Sri Lankan legend and former captain Upul Tharanga, and South African legend Richard Levi, along with Bangladesh star Tamim Iqbal. On the one hand, it will give exposure and experience to Nepali players, while the domestic spectators will be able to see internationally famous names before their eyes.

Whether they will be able to perform as their name implies will be known on the field.

Which team has foreign players?

Biratnagar Warriors: Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Ryyan Pathan (Canada), Chandrapaul Hemraj (West Indies), Dilshan Munaweera(Sri Lanka)

Kathmandu Kings: Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Janak Prakash (Singapore), Ryan Burl (Zimbabwe), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Afghanistan)

Lalitpur Patriots: Azmatullah Omarzai (Afghanistan), Oshada Fernando (Sri Lanka), Sandun Weerakkody (Sri Lanka), Mikyo Dorji (Bhutan)

Chitwan Tigers: Mohammad Sehzad (Afghanistan), Karim Janat (Afghanistan), Seekkuge Prasanna (Sri Lanka), Virandeep Singh (Malaysia)

Bhairahawa Gladiators: Tamim Iqbal Khan (Bangladesh), Upul Tharanga (Sri Lanka), Dhammika Prasad (Sri Lanka),
Servin Muniendi (Malaysia)

Pokhara Rhinos: Richard Levi (South Africa), Kesrick Williams (West Indies), Asela Gunaratne (Sri Lanka), Sahan Arachchige (Sri Lanka)