Gagan Thapa, Bishwa Prakash Sharma look set to fight for NC general secretary

Central members of Nepali Congress (NC) Bishwa Prakash Sharma and Gagan Thapa look set to contest for the post of general secretary in the coming general convention.
Thapa has already announced candidacy for the post on August 30 while Sharma also looks set to announce candidacy in the coming days.

Thapa, who had also contested for general secretary in the last general convention and lost to Shashank Koirala from the faction of Senior Leader Ram Chandra Paudel, was associated with the faction of Krishna Sitaula then.

Sources close to Thapa confide that he will contest in the upcoming general convention from the anti-establishment camp but not from the Sitaula faction and is determined to even contest independent of any faction if the Paudel faction fields other candidates.

Sharma, on the other hand, had joined Sher Bahadur Deuba camp only before being appointed spokesperson by the party president having already been elected central member in the last general convention.

The ruling party, that earlier elected only one general secretary with the president nominating the other, has amended its statute this time electing both the general secretaries through the general convention. This means Sharma and Thapa, who was in Nepal Students Union when the former was president of the student wing, will not be directly contesting for a single post and both can theoretically be elected as general secretaries.

Central members Bal Krishna Khand, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, Ramesh Lekhak and NP Saud are also aspirants for the post from the Deuba faction. But Sharma looks set to announce

About Post Author

Generated by Feedzy