CAN announces names of Nepal T20 league teams, says it won’t sanction other T20 leagues


Kathmandu, May 25

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced the initial names of the teams for the upcoming Nepal T20 League.

The national cricket governing body announces the six teams of the Nepal T20 League will be initially called Biratnagar, Janakpur, Kathmandu, Pokhara, Bhairahawa and Farwestern. The prospective owners of the team can name their teams based on the names of these places which represent six of Nepal’s seven provinces. As of now, CAN hasn’t included Karnali Province.

Meanwhile, CAN has also addressed the recent comments by the Everest Premier League. On Tuesday, it issued a statement that the founder and owners of EPL teams were trying to threaten CAN but it would not budget. It also said that EPL made irresponsible, delusional and fictional claims and that stakeholders need to stay aware of such news.

But, on Wednesday, CAN said that it was thanks to these franchise leagues (EPL, DPL and PPL) for their contribution to the growth of the sport. The board said it would not be sanctioning them as the national league from here onwards.

These leagues can carry on taking place in the country if they adapted a regional model.