Tadej Pogacar wins stage 17 of the Tour de France 2021; Improves Overall Lead.

On stage 17 of the Tour de France, defending champion Tadej Pogacar won a stunning victory atop the Col du Portet, extending his advantage in the yellow jersey.

With 150 meters to go, the Slovenian, 22, sprinted clear of Jonas Vingegaard and Richard Carapaz to win his fifth Tour stage overall and second in 2021.

Pogacar of UAE Team Emirates now leads Vingegaard by five minutes and 39 seconds, with Carapaz four seconds behind.

Stage 17 result

  1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) 5hrs 03mins 31secs
  2. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo) +03secs
  3. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Ineos Grenadiers) +04secs
  4. David Gaudu (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) +1min 19secs
  5. Ben O’Connor (Aus/AG2R Citroen) +1min 26secs
  6. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Bora-Hansgrohe) +1min 40secs
  7. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Bahrain-Victorious) +1min 44secs
  8. Sergio Higuita (Col/EF Education Nippo) +1min 49secs
  9. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Education Nippo) Same time
  10. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Bahrain-Victorious)

General classification after stage 17

  1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) 71hours 26minutes 27seconds
  2. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo) +5mins 39secs
  3. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Ineos Grenadiers) +5mins 43secs
  4. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Education Nippo) +7mins 17secs
  5. Ben O’Connor (Aus/AG2R Citroen) +7mins 34secs
  6. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Bora-Hansgrohe) +8mins 06secs
  7. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +9mins 48secs
  8. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz/Astana) +10mins 04secs
  9. Guillaume Martin (Fra/Cofidis) +11mins 51secs
  10. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Bahrain-Victorious) +12mins 53secs